It’s OK to be honest with your Doctor.

Hello everyone! We are back from Thanksgiving, and finally getting back into the swing of things again.

While I was at home I had a discussion with my aunt, it was really interesting and gave me a new perspective. I wanted to share it with you, because I have a feeling this scenario happens more often than not.

My aunt recently started chiropractic care and has been receiving chiropractic adjustments, but she “hates” going to her appointments because sometimes she is in more pain after she leaves, and she doesn’t like part of the adjustment itself.
All valid points, and it’s not the first time I have heard concerns like these. My first question to her was “Have you talked to Doctor XYZ about your concerns?”

She responded, “No, I don’t want to hurt his/her feelings.”

Doctors want YOU to have the best care and best experience in their office, when you aren’t 1000% happy in the care you are receiving it is perfectly OK to speak up! You are in charge of your health, and you have the right to truthfully be informed about your health.
Often times, if nothing is said from patient to the doctor in regards to any concerns, the doctor has no idea that anything is wrong. Your doctor (should) have your health as their primary concern, and their goal should be to give you the best care possible.

So, SPEAK UP and I promise you won’t hurt their feelings!

In my office, I will ask almost every visit (especially in the beginning) if they have any questions or concerns. People aren’t afraid to ask questions, but they are afraid to talk about the concerns, because there is an emotional component.

I’m here to tell you, it’s ok to ask questions and it’s definitely ok to communicate any concerns with your provider.
I promise, we won’t get our feelings hurt!

Until Then-
Walk in Excellence, Comfort and Conviction with a Total Spirit of Love!

—Dr. Erica

Leave a Reply

